Summer is right around the corner, and it is promising lovely strolls down the streets of Montreal (or some charming European destination), lots of beer, food, festivals, and who knows what else. But there will be those days when we’ll want to curl up inside with a great book (or bring some reading material to the beach). Here’s what we’ll be reading this summer.

Sophia Trozzo: My summer mission is to read everything Milan Kundera has ever written. After having my literary
conscious blown away by both The Unbearable Lightness of Being and The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, the next on my list is The Joke.
Also, I simply won’t be able to forgive myself if I do not finally get around to reading Primo Levi’s If This is a Man.
Essays by the wonderful Iris Marion Young are also in my plans to tackle.

Bianca Puorto: I’m not ashamed to admit that my summer reads usually consist of trashy chick-lit, usually taking place in New York City, where some high powered businesswoman falls head over heels for some even higher powered businessman. That’s what I think summer is for, lying in the heat and fantasizing.
Lately, however, I’ve been toying with the idea of religion. Not so much of investing myself in a particular faith, but in how it affects people and why people turn to religion in times of need. Someone recently suggested  William P. Young’s The Shack, the story of a man whose daughter mysteriously disappears on a family vacation. Subsequently the man receives a letter, supposedly from God, requesting he return to the site of his daughter’s disappearance. Alright Mr. Young, you’ve got my attention.

Chris Hanna: I read Stieg Larsson’s first two Millenium series books, The Girl With The
Dragon Tattoo
and The Girl Who Played With Fire, during the summer of 2010 and 2011 respectively, so this summer I will be reading his explosive (according to the book’s back cover) conclusion to the series, The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest.
I also have a stack of magazines that I’ve been neglecting. More issues of Esquire, GQ, Vanity Fair, Wired, National Geographic and The Walrus keep being added to my mountain of magazines. I’ll have to read them and get them out of my room fast: all that paper is making it a fire hazard.

Owen Nagels: It’s time for The Cafe Phenomenon’s summer reading list, a list that will make me feel guilty as sin at the end of this season because in all likeliness, I won’t even put a checkmark next to even a quarter of the books and magazines stacking up in my bookshelf. But, I have an unproductive summer at a very undemanding job coming up, so here’s to hoping!
On my list I have most of the same books from our Christmas reading list; I have to finish Dublin, Edward Rutherford’s brick I’ve been trying to finish for the past three years. I’ve also got my eternally growing stack of National Geographics to go through (almost two years worth!) I’m also going to be ambitious and add Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts, The Hunger Games and The Help.

Sophia Loffreda: Summer means two things in my mind: that I will, hopefully, get a tan and that I will finally have time to read more. I just ordered three books from Amazon that I will await with impatience: Sixty Million Frenchmen Can’t be Wrong by Jean-Benoit Nadeau (a book about why we love France but hate the French), Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection by the absolutely hilarious and wise A.J. Jacobs, and Aim for the Heart: Write, Shoot, Report, and Produce for T.V. and Multimedia by veteran journalist Al Tompkins. While my summer reads fly in from Amazon’s many exotic locations (such as Hull, Ottawa and Markham), I’m going to try to get through the two books sitting on my nightstand. Malcolm Gladwell’s What the Dog Saw and David Sedaris’ very funny When You Are Engulfed in Flames are sure to keep me entertained.

Radina Papukchieva:  As soon as my semester is over I plan to finish The Hunger Games and move on to Anna Karenina (I have a thing for reading one Russian novel every summer, don’t ask). Nabokov’s Lolita is also on my list, as well as Beigbeder’s Nouvelles sous Ecstasy and L’amour dure trois ans. I feel like I don’t read enough poetry, so some E.E.Cummings is a must, and Bryan Sentes’ collection of poems March End Prill. Catching up with my pile of Vanity Fair and Film Comment would be nice. If I actually read even a quarter of what’s on my list I’d be pretty happy with myself.

About The Cafe Phenomenon

"The Cafe Phenomenon" refers to a situation, specifically in a cafe, where you are sitting with a friend and engaging in conversation with them, but you suddenly find yourself unable to listen because the background noise of the cafe distracts you from what they are saying (the background noise could be any thing: the gossip at the next table for example). It happens that, from time to time, in certain contexts the background noise is stronger and more defined than our personal and private one on one conversations. Our blog, made up of a group of friends from Concordia's journalism program, can serve as the background noise penetrating the intimate discussions of our virtual cafe dwellers (hopefully adding insight, relevant coverage, and interesting ideas). Or it can be the friend with whom you are deep in conversation. This, our dear readers, we leave to you.

Leave a Reply

