For some of us here at TCP, the Oscars are bigger than our birthdays. For others, well it’s really not such a big deal. Maybe you just want to check in for the red carpet looks, or maybe you’re preparing a big dinner with friends and family, or maybe you’re against the whole show business bonanza altogether. Whatever the case, we dissected all the things you may or may not be paying attention to this Sunday night.

The host

“When I was just a little girl watching movies with my parents, the Oscars were an event always hosted by Billy Crystal. That’s how it was in my head. When he stopped hosting, I honestly thought he’d passed away, and was in disbelief that he could be replaced.  Remember when in 1997 he inserted himself in the nominated films? Or when in 1997 he recounted the story of Titanic to the tune of Gilligan’s Island? Priceless Oscar moments! I really hope Billy will give the show the jolt it lost last year with the train-wreck entertainment provided by an overly excited Anne Hathaway and stoned-looking James Franco. It may just be the best Oscars night we’ve seen in awhile!” – Radina Papukchieva

“Oh Billy Crystal, how we’ve missed you! His name has become synonymous with the Oscars, and I have to agree, since we lost Billy as host the Oscars just haven’t been the same. The closest Academy Award lovers came to finding even slightly comparable was when Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin hosted. Still, my heart ached – I longed for the days when the “When Harry Met Sally” star would return to reclaim his throne. Ladies and gentlemen, that day is finally here! I happen to be one of the dorks hosting an Oscar party – it takes a certain kind of movie geek to a) think of planning an event around the ceremony b) execute this plan and convince others to jump on the bandwagon c) have enough free time to even consider losing 5 hours to the Oscars and d) be counting down the days until the big event. I’M NOT ASHAMED! I just hope that Billy is as hilarious and lovable as he used to be. I have high hopes for him, and I would hate to be disappointed. If the Oscar promo is any indication, I think his old guy humour will be down to earth and witty. The star-studded commercial has Megan Fox and Josh Duhamel trying to track down “The Host”. After finding Billy Crystal in Mongolia, where he was living as a Sherpa, he accepts the gig by saying “you could have just texted.” It’ll definitely be a nice change, after last year’s tragic attempt at tailoring the Oscars to a younger demographic. (When Anne Hathaway’s 12 wardrobe changes are the highlights of the night, you know it’s bad.)” – Sophia Loffreda

The red carpet

“When it comes to the Oscars there are five go-to designers that every woman dreams of wearing. If you can’t get them, then you pray that one day, you might. Of course there are the not-so-classic Oscar gowns that always surprise us – think Cate Blanchett on the red carpet last year, wearing a light pink Givenchy Couture creation. But my prediction is that Hollywood’s best-dressed VIPs will be wearing the fabulous five: Marchesa, Oscar de la Renta, Armani (Privé), Elie Saab, and Valentino. Of course, every stylists dream is to dress an Oscar contender for the big night, and they tend to go all out, so watch for big rings, big earrings, and gold and silver cuffs this year. Fred Leighton, Harry Winston, Lorraine Shwartz, and Buglari are perennial favourites. Although bejewelled boxed clutches were all the rage last year, this season
is all about the bright boxy handbags and over sized envelope clutches – we’ll have to see who picks up the trend on Sunday. I’ll be looking out for celebs like Angelina Jolie, Heidi Klum, Emma Stone, Stacy Keibler (hitting the red carpet with her beautiful boyfriend, George Clooney), Kirsten Wiig, Michelle Williams, Zoe Saldana (probably with Bradley Cooper as her arm candy), and all of Rachel Zoe’s flawless-looking clients (including Debra Messing, Anne Hathaway, Kate Hudson, Jessica Biel, and Julianne Moore). Of course, I’ll also be keeping an eye open for Burberry’s new frontman, the adorable Eddie Redmayne, from My Week with Marilyn… I kind of, maybe, have a little crush.” – Sophia Loffreda

The food

“Every year, my mom and I buy white wine, baguettes, smoked salmon, brie, and some olives for Oscars night. We make two kinds of tiny sandwiches: with the salmon and the brie – it’s like a low budget fancy dinner that still looks pretty sophisticated on a dinner table (yeah, we kind of pretend we’re actually eating on the red carpet or something, don’t judge).Plus, you want to be sitting on the couch in front of your TV for the Oscars, and these sandwiches are pretty comfortable to eat – no leaking, no mess on your snuggie or pyjama, so it’s all good. And white wine, I mean it just goes so well with everything. Add some baklava, or whatever sweets you have at home for desert and you got yourself a not-so-shabby Oscar dinner.” – Radina Papukchieva

“In the past, I’ve snuggled up with some hot tea and a fruit platter. It’s a long ceremony so you can’t go wrong with a healthy option like fruit that you can snack on the whole way through. Try something simple like blueberries, blackberries, sliced bananas, melon, and pineapple. This year’s going to be a little different though. For my Oscar party, I’m gonna set up a pot-luck/buffet – no light, healthy fruit here (maybe for dessert, but that’s all). I’m thinking chili, risotto, a sausage and vegetable stir fry, seafood salad, asparagus and smoked salmon, crackers, and cheeses. A few friends said they’ll be bringing cupcakes and macaroons for later, so you know it’s going to be a good night. Think of it this way, if the award show doesn’t live up the hype, at least you’ll still have delicious food to make it better.” – Sophia Loffreda

Why some of us won’t be that excited, but will still watch

“Unfortunately (or fortunately), my contributions to this post will be minuscule. I’ve only seen a handful of the nominated films (Albert Nobbs, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, Beginners and of course, the hilarious Bridesmaids) and there are three simple reasons why.
First, I’m too poor. Oscar movies all too often don’t come out to DVD until after the ceremony. And who has $12+ to go see a movie these days anyway? Second, even if I could afford it, I don’t have time to go to the movies. School, work and all that junk. Adding a relentless need to see all these movies is not time-productive for me. Finally, and most importantly, I find a lot of Oscar-nominated movies to be horribly depressing. Extremely Close & Incredibly Loud was about a boy going on a scavenger hunt left by his dead father. Albert Nobbs was good, but the poor guy can’t catch a break! Beginners was also pretty good, but a gay man who comes out of the closet in his 70s and then gets cancer is just too much for me. I feel that if I’m going to pay all this money to see a movie, I don’t want to see something that will potentially make me cry in public. I’ve done enough of that in my life. I am glad though, that Melissa McCarthy got Bridesmaids, an awesome silly comedy recognized at an awards show that’s all too glitzy and posh. Kudos, Oscar people.
I figure I’m just better suited for something like the Golden Globes, the Pinot Grigio of award shows, rather than the ultra glamorous one, where a presenter could make a joke on stage about someone breaking wind and it wouldn’t be deemed too inappropriate. I live in the land of inappropriate.
That being said, I’m still probably going to watch the Oscars. I’ll see who wins the best supporting roles, then tune out through all the boring stuff, maybe peek in to see how Billy’s doing, and then come back to see the big five; Writing (Adapted and Original), Actor, Actress and Picture. Fingers crossed for Meryl Streep! This is her 12th nomination since winning for Sophie’s Choice, almost 30 years ago.” – Owen Nagels

About The Cafe Phenomenon

"The Cafe Phenomenon" refers to a situation, specifically in a cafe, where you are sitting with a friend and engaging in conversation with them, but you suddenly find yourself unable to listen because the background noise of the cafe distracts you from what they are saying (the background noise could be any thing: the gossip at the next table for example). It happens that, from time to time, in certain contexts the background noise is stronger and more defined than our personal and private one on one conversations. Our blog, made up of a group of friends from Concordia's journalism program, can serve as the background noise penetrating the intimate discussions of our virtual cafe dwellers (hopefully adding insight, relevant coverage, and interesting ideas). Or it can be the friend with whom you are deep in conversation. This, our dear readers, we leave to you.

One response »

  1. Wes B. says:

    I have to say this. I cannot stand the excitement I have for the Oscars. It`s awesome for celebrities to be recognized for their excellent work and achievements. I`m definitely turning in tomorrow night. I just need to make sure I get the right time so I don`t miss it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

