Today, Chris Hanna, Radina Papukchieva, and Sophia Loffreda look at the nominees and pick their winners for the best song, score and sound (mixing and editing… yes there is a difference!)

The nominees for Best Original Song are:

The MuppetsBret McKenzie (“Man or Muppet”)

RioSergio MendesCarlinhos BrownSiedah Garrett (“Real in Rio”)

“There are two songs nominated. My pick is “Man or Muppet,” the existential anthem from The Muppets, sung by crooner Jason Segel (who knew?!). It is a delicious little song that I sing to myself when I look in the mirror in the morning.”Radina Papukchieva

“You can read more about my confusion re: the best song category here, but ‘Man or Muppet’ has this in the bag. The Muppets was one of the most fun films of 2011, and while it had a lot more going for it than just this song, this award will do.” – Chris Hanna

“Although ‘Real in Rio’ is pretty darn adorable, my love for Jason Segel means I’m a little biased when it comes to the Best Original Song category. I’ve been cheering on this underrated comedian since his hand puppet opera performance in Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Segel’s delivery is hilarious, musically superior, and robust all at the same time. I have to agree with Radina and Chris – ‘Man or Muppet’ is enjoyable, creative, and more worthy of this award. – Sophia Loffreda

The nominees for best original score are:

The Adventures of TintinJohn Williams
The ArtistLudovic Bource
HugoHoward Shore
Tinker Tailor Soldier SpyAlberto Iglesias
War HorseJohn Williams

Listen to samples from each score and let us know what you think in the comments below:

“I can’t believe The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Drive did not get nominated in this category, and they were the best scored movies this year, in my humble opinion.  So from what we have, I’d go with Ludovic Bource’s score for The Artist. A silent movie is driven by music and any film student can tell you that, more often than not, it is music that makes the viewing of silent films bearable. The Artist‘s score was exquisite and made the movie stand out, keeping in mind that in a well-done silent film everything has to be remarkable to make up for the lack of speech. ” – Radina Papukchieva

“I don’t know if any of this year nominees are ultra memorable. Forty-two-time (!!!) nominee John Williams hasn’t won since 1993 (Schindler’s List) and I think he could win his sixth Oscar this year. War Horse couldn’t hold my attention throughout, but it was gripping when Williams’ orchestra did its thing. I happen to think Alexandre Desplat’s score for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 was criminally overlooked. It was the most epic-sounding score of the year and one of the most exciting scores in the Potter series.” – Chris Hanna

“Now that you mention it, Chris, I had forgotten how fantastic Harry Potter‘s score was! Sadly, another Oscar snub to add to this year’s long list. I thought Alexandre Desplat’s score for The Tree of Life also deserved a nomination. Anyway, getting back to business… I enjoyed Howard Shore’s music for Hugo (especially the dramatic melodies playing whenever the trains come on screen or when Georges Méliès finds his long lost drawings scattered all over the floor) but I don’t think it should win over The Artist. This loveable film kept my attention the whole way through, and I know the score had something to do with that. The musicality was flawless, each scene and song seamlessly blending into each other as if they were conjoined twins. I think The Artist is truly an original when it comes to this category. Anything that makes me want to dawn a flapper dress and attempt “jazz fingers” gets my vote.” – Sophia Loffreda

The nominees for best achievement in sound editing are:

DriveLon BenderVictor Ray Ennis
The Girl with the Dragon TattooRen Klyce
HugoPhilip StocktonEugene Gearty
Transformers: Dark of the MoonEthan Van der RynErik Aadahl
War HorseRichard HymnsGary Rydstrom

The nominees for best achievement in sound mixing are:

“I remember reading somewhere that the sound editing award goes to the film with the best sound and the sound mixing award goes to the film with the most sound. The awards are given out by the sound branch of the Academy and while I won’t even pretend to try and explain what good sound is, I know that I really felt like I was in that Paris train station in Hugo, and that sound had to have something to do with that. I heard the clocks, the running and the train pulling into the station like they were happening in the theatre. But I also thought Joey the Horse’s galloping in War Horse must have been so challenging to record and perfect. And Transformers, of course, is an attack on your eyes and ears. They just throw everything together and it kinda sounds like robots and metal clanking. I’m going to go with War Horse for the sound editing award, and Hugo for sound mixing. But these categories have always caused me to be angry at my choices!” – Chris Hanna

About The Cafe Phenomenon

"The Cafe Phenomenon" refers to a situation, specifically in a cafe, where you are sitting with a friend and engaging in conversation with them, but you suddenly find yourself unable to listen because the background noise of the cafe distracts you from what they are saying (the background noise could be any thing: the gossip at the next table for example). It happens that, from time to time, in certain contexts the background noise is stronger and more defined than our personal and private one on one conversations. Our blog, made up of a group of friends from Concordia's journalism program, can serve as the background noise penetrating the intimate discussions of our virtual cafe dwellers (hopefully adding insight, relevant coverage, and interesting ideas). Or it can be the friend with whom you are deep in conversation. This, our dear readers, we leave to you.

Leave a Reply

