What TCP contributors are listening to this holiday season
“‘All I Want for Christmas is You’ by Mariah Carey is one of my perennial holiday favourites. The video clip is ‘90s perfection, with just the right amount of cheesy Christmas cheer. You may mock, but nobody belts it out like Mariah! The next three songs on my playlist are also worth mentioning: the ever-gorgeous and thoughtful “Happy Christmas” by musical genius John Lennon (because, as a closeted hippy, all I really want for Christmas is peace on Earth), the equally beautiful “O Holy Night” (Faith Hill’s live rendition is guaranteed to give you goosebumps), and Michael Bublé’s cheeky rendition of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.” The Canuck has sung the duet with Anne Murray as well as Jennifer Hudson.” – Sophia Loffreda

“‘Wonderful Christmas Time’ by Paul McCartney, because all throughout the holidays all you want is to be “simply having a wonderful Christmas time,” right?  It’s just the right dose of joy to put you in the holiday spirit and it can even make eggnog seem festive.  Of course, I’ve been listening to Christmas music since late November, so this isn’t the only song on my playlist.  She and Him’s Christmas album is on my iPod and my favourite is their rendition of “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,” which gains points for extra bubbliness thanks to Zooey Deschanel.  And who am I kidding, of course Christmas song number three would be Mariah’s “All I Want for Christmas is You,” for reasons Sophia has made very clear.” – Radina Papukchieva

“A song I cannot seem to get enough of is “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer” by Doctor Elmo, AKA the most annoying Christmas carol of all time. I don’t know what it is about it, but from the moment radio stations start playing Christmas music it’s the one song that I really get into every single time. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my grandma, but the idea of anyone drinking way too much eggnog and wandering home in the snow only to get bulldozed by Rudolph cracks me up every time. Besides, grandma couldn’t have been hurt too badly, it’s a Christmas carol!” – Bianca Puorto

“My all-time favourite Christmas song is “O Holy Night.” There have been lots of different versions out there. Christina Aguilera, Celine Dion and Josh Groban have all recorded fantastic versions of it. But, my all-time favourite version, by far, is the one I sing in the shower around this time of year. Although my cats and roommate probably disagree, but I think I sound great. Must be the accoustics, right?” – Owen Nagels


“It’s easy to get caught up in “stuff” around Christmastime. I’ve been to the mall about a dozen times in the last week. That’s a dozen more visits I’ve paid to the mall than I’ve paid to a church all year. Christmas is, after all, a celebration of the birth of Jesus. The one song that makes me feel like it’s Christmas is “Jesus, Oh What a Wonderful Child.” John Legend does it well, but Mariah Carey’s version makes me feel like I’m at church. In fact, I’ll probably listen to this for two hours instead of going to church this weekend…” – Chris Hanna

About The Cafe Phenomenon

"The Cafe Phenomenon" refers to a situation, specifically in a cafe, where you are sitting with a friend and engaging in conversation with them, but you suddenly find yourself unable to listen because the background noise of the cafe distracts you from what they are saying (the background noise could be any thing: the gossip at the next table for example). It happens that, from time to time, in certain contexts the background noise is stronger and more defined than our personal and private one on one conversations. Our blog, made up of a group of friends from Concordia's journalism program, can serve as the background noise penetrating the intimate discussions of our virtual cafe dwellers (hopefully adding insight, relevant coverage, and interesting ideas). Or it can be the friend with whom you are deep in conversation. This, our dear readers, we leave to you.

Leave a Reply

